Putting things in perspective

This was the longest short week ever. Despite only being at work for three days it felt like it
dragged on forever. I think the reason it seemed like eternity is because it was a particularly shitty few days. A lot of things went wrong. Every single lesson was a disaster. Experiments weren’t working. The internet wasn’t working. My computer still isn’t working. These are just a few of the stupid problems I’ve had this week. The reason they are bothering me so much is because I have put countless hours into planning this Better Biology program, and now I can’t even execute it properly. And to simply try and come up with a non-tech related back up plan for every activity is not humanly possible. There are simply not enough hours in the day. And plus, it would just defeat the purpose.

In the grand scheme of things, not being able to use technology in the classroom is a very superficial, unimportant issue. Last weekend there was a major tragedy in Hong Kong where several people lost their lives. THAT is something to be upset about. Putting things into perspective can be really challenging sometimes. I read a quotation the other day that
said that if you threw your problems into a pile and saw everybody else’s, you would grab yours right back. I could not have put it better myself. We must constantly remind ourselves that most of us are privileged to have the problems that we have. Whenever I feel negative thoughts creeping in, I tell myself how lucky I am. When I start to complain to my colleagues and friends, I instantly feel regret for sounding so spoiled. I honestly try to keep in mind that my problems are truly insignificant compared to those that face real suffering every day. But the thing is – persecution, poverty, illness etc… that is not my reality right now. And so some days it is harder than others to remember that it could have been. And that I am not deserving, just really damn lucky.

Frankly, I am tired of moaning about my bulls**t problems. Yes, we all need to vent sometimes of course – we’re only human. But I’ve been whining about it to whomever would listen all week. Let this blog post be the final nail in the coffin of complaining. 

I am not a religious person. But I really like this part of the serenity prayer.

“… grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;

Enjoying one moment at a time;

Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace…”

Amen to that.

Image URL: http://thefourthrevolution.org/wordpress/archives/1880

Leave a Reply

